Les chansons d’amour

I hadn’t really thought about it till you put it out plainly like that. How we both missed our high school romances. And it’s something we’ll never get to experience again or even have the opportunity to. And really, it’s a bit sad no? I mean, true, we’ve had our fair share of reading about them, and ‘experiencing’ them through the world of books, television and film; but you know, it’s just not the same. And to think it just passed by without me realizing.

All that angst, all the emotions, all the falling head over heels, all the hate and jealousy and innocence!

To think we’ve both missed out on it!

Maybe you’re right, we haven’t been very lucky, both of us. But good things are worth waiting for no? Makes it all the more sweeter? Or could it be that we’re lucky, lucky that we’ve missed all that heartache?

Gee, I thought this was supposed to be a place celebrating singlehood? Hahs. What happened?!

Anyway, I’ve been watching quite a bit of French films lately. And, you know, perhaps we’ll still get a chance to experience all that. I’ve noticed the protagonists in the films are almost always in their early twenties to early thirties. And you know how the French are. What with their extremism, their romanticism, their realism, cynicism. Makes you want to be in France and experience it all for yourself! And even if it’s outrageous sometimes, it’s oh so very charming that you can’t help falling in love with them. But maybe that’s it huh, that it’s in France, Paris! that even as adults, their romances are fairy tale like, dreamy, unrealistic. There’s just something about Singapore that’s stifling.

I stumbled on this French movie recently, and it’s been stuck in my head ever since. Les Chansons D’Amour (Love Songs). I should warn you that there’s some homosexual content in it so you know, brace yourself, nothing explicit though. It’s French, what do you expect! But yeah, it’s quite different from the other films I’ve watched but you can’t help but feel it’s still so very French. It’s a musical, so they break out into songs every now and then. The music is perfect, and the lyrics, as in all things French, is poetic.

I wouldn’t say the movie left me feeling very strongly about it at first, but there’s this haunting quality to it. In short, the movie’s about the loss of a loved one, the whole mourning process, the frightening feeling of being alone, and the feeling of being afraid to be in love again.

Makes me wonder about my own love life in the future.

Seems like I’m digressing a bit, so I guess I’ll stop for now. I’ll end off with a dialogue from the end of the movie which like the movie, has been haunting me. But it’s so beautiful at the same time.

Aime-moi moins, mais aime-moi longtemps
Love me less, but love me a longtime

2 thoughts on “Les chansons d’amour

Leave a Reply

